Gathering

image

(Exodus by Darko Birsa.  Slovenia, Painting, oil.)

It was the harvest,

yet, we were starving.

Even the baby’s snores

scattered.

A bent mink cloth,

a dilapidated gaze,

gold-plated skin of paint peeling the

splendors of war,

still rattling,

in the secular breeze.

Able,

we had nothing

left except the plain,

non-commital

lux

of blown-out museums and

bereft shopping malls.

I turned to hear the sound

of tortured faces

centering in the town square.

A diaspora had ended

amongst the ruins.

Never,

not ever,

would I forget

the paradox.

This was inspired by The Sunday Whirl as well as this story http:// http://m.motherjones.com/politics/2014/11/syria-war-assad-starvation-hunger I read earlier on Twitter.

Also linked to dVerse Open Link Night, and Poets United.

38 thoughts on “Gathering

    • It is madness, it is atrocity, it is a word that does not even exist for that form of inhumanity. I was speechless, yet, not enough to not write about it. Thanks for visiting, Bjorn.

      Like

    • Almost always, it seems, in the name of power, so, so true. I cannot help but wonder that myself, Sumana. Thanks so much for stopping by.

      Like

    • Thanks very much, Natasa. Yes I found the image on Pinterest, of all places, lol, when scrolling through art. Glad you could connect with it. 🙂

      Like

    • Personally, I know nothing about the horrors of war, but after reading the article and the combination of the word associations, the images just formed in my head. It was a sort of, ‘what do we have when we have nothing left?’ feeling to me. Anyway, thanks for leaving your comments.

      Like

  1. Deprivation in wartime is as effective as shells and bombs in eradicating the enemy be they foreigners or countrymen. Humanity is probably the least humane species on earth.

    Like

    • At age thirty-five, I am finally, regretfully starting to understand that about humanity. As a student and admirer of Humanistic psychology and philosophy, it can be quite shattering. Tragically, the only shred of humanity that remains are in the survivors of these human rights crimes. Thank you for visiting.

      Like

    • It is always that paradox that defines our strengths as well as our weakness, which is the give and take of human nature itself. Thank you for your comments, Scott, I appreciate it. ☺

      Like

  2. This kind of stuff is extremely difficult to write about. Unless you’ve been starving recently yourself, or been in the middle of it, a distance wedges its way in. Still, this has your trademark unexpected phrasing, and skillful composition. I always love coming to see what you’ll write next.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, and coming from a girl in Ohio, I don’t want to come off presumtuously, because I have never experienced war. With me, it is always an abstract empathy that forms the images and words. The article I read affected me as well. Thank you for your always so kind words, Fireblossom, I really appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

    • I wonder that also, Brian, but I also believe there will be those who simply cannot accept the cycle and strive to dismantle it. As long as there are wars, there will be those who oppose those wars. Thanks so much for visiting. 🙂

      Like

    • In ruins, always, and I wonder why does war continue, if that is the way it always ends? Maybe an unanswerable question. Thanks for your insight, always appreciated. 🙂

      Like

  3. The painting is striking and your poem is so graphic and imbued with mood and reality, I truly thought it was written by someone in the midst of war. It doesnt get any better! A fantastic write. It made me click “about” to read about you, but your page isnt done yet. I hope to keep reading more of your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sherry, thank you very much. No, I am just some 35 year old wife and mother, working full-time from Ohio who happened to read an article pertaining to this topic, which moved me deeply. I’ve had a week off, so I was more rested and possibly more receptive creatively. I am going to put up a bio soon though when I get a chance. Again your comments are always very encouraging, so thanks again. 🙂

      Like

  4. “A diaspora had ended / amongst the ruins.” — What a piercing statement. This is a massive little poem, it keeps the eye fixed on human truths in a lying century. Very well done.

    Like

    • Hey Colleen, I just googled the word lux too and it wasn’t at all how I mean it in the poem, lol. I meant it more as slang, in a jaded, cynical sort of way. A contradiction to all that surrounds in the poem. Anyway thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

